Welcome to nicheforSpeed.com

Current Motorsport Status and History including Formula 1 (F1), World Endurance and GT (WEC, IMSA, Weathertech), IndyCar (NTT), and NASCAR (Monster Cup) racing. Please explore and enjoy your niche for speed.

Prior Season

1958 FIA Formula 1 Season (ICM)

Next Season

1958 FIA Formula 1 Season (ICM)
Photo Credit: ESPN UK.
Champion Constructor: Vandervell Vanwall (GB,1,0)
Putative Constructor: Scuderia Ferrari (IT,0,9)
Champion Driver: Mike Hawthorn (GB,1,1)
Putative Driver: Mike Hawthorn (GB)
Putative Constructor Entry Specification: Model Dino 246, 2.42-liter, six-cylinder vee, light alloy engine, DOHC, three carburetors, four-speed, elliptical tube frame, double wishbone/De Dion axle independent suspension, 280 horsepower (Alfredo Ferrari, Vittorio Jano, Medardo Fantuzzi).

The FIA establishes the newly formed International Cup for Manufacturers honorific into the 1956 Formula 1 Championship. The sanctioning body also establishes a 300 kilometer/two hour limit for race events, mandates the use of commercial petroleum for all entries, and bans the use of multiple entries by a driver during a given race event. British Vandervell Vanwall wins its maiden ICM constructor's title by a narrow margin over Scuderia Ferrari, yet Ferrari ekes out the putative crown. Briton Mike Hawthorn requires a second place finish and a generous pass through for victory from Ferrari teammate Phil Hill to narrowly prevail over Stirling Moss for the drivers' crown. Of historical import stands the tremendous moves forward made by the British in stamping their engineering genius upon the F1 endeavor. Cuban revolutionaries associated with Fidel Castro, determined to embarrass President Fulgencio Batista, kidnap defending F1 driving champion Juan Manuel Fangio from his hotel room in Havana prior to the non-championship Cuban Grand Prix in February, yet release him mere hours before the event. Future F1 champion Graham Hill makes his debut at Monaco in May. Italian female driver Maria Teresa de Filippis make her debut at Spa in June and becomes the first woman to race in the modern F1 championship era. Future F1 supremo and team owner Bernie Ecclestone makes his constructors' debut with his Connaught at Silverstone in July. Future F1 champion Phil Hill makes his debut at Reims in July. The sudden and tragic departure of Scuderia Ferrari pilot Luigi Musso at Reims in July prompts defending F1 champion Juan Manuel Fangio to retire from competitive racing at season end. Both future racing star and constructor Bruce McLaren and the Porsche RSK/F2 entry each make their respective debuts at the NĂĽrburgring in August. F1 makes its inaugural visits to Porto, Portugal in August and Ain Diab, Casablanca, Morocco in October. Departures: Luigi Musso, 33, b. Rome, Italy 1924, d. GP France, Reims, July. Peter Collins, 26, b. Kidderminster, England 1931, d. GP Germany, Mayen, August. Stuart Lewis-Evans, 28, b. Luton, England 1930, d. postrace GP Morocco, Casablanca, October.

HeM applies the Putative Model to all racing seasons for two primary purposes: First, to effectively normalize all racing seasons for empirical comparison across the decades, and second, to step clear of series organizers which score season championships primarily out of commercial interest or to attract manufacturer participation. The Putative Model simply scores all seasons in the same fashion as a standard track and field meeting, with the only purpose of tracking what takes place at the finishing stripe If the Putative Champion differs from the nominal Series Champion, please note the (SC) notation below.

Scuderia Ferrari115     Hawthorn63
Vandervell Vanwall (SC)93     Moss S58
Walker Cooper Climax29     Brooks T37
Owen BRM28     Collins P19
Cooper Climax25     Schell18
Belond Kraft Offenhauser12     Salvadori18

Noteworthy 1958 Races

1958 XIII BARC Aintree 200 Aintree, England1958 1958 XIII BARC Aintree 200 At Aintree for the BARC 200 (323.5 kilometers) in April, the race comes to a British Cooper Climax T45 under Stirling Moss (GB) in 2:20:47 (average 85.67 mph), under a second (.20) ahead of a Cooper driven by Jack Brabham. Moss swiftly moves out front for the start before overheating and clutch troubles begin to slow his speed at the halfway point. Brabham closes the gap to race leader Moss with four laps remaining and by the final circuit rides close on the tailpipe of Moss. Brabham makes a final lunge at Moss at Tatt's Corner, Moss cuts off his competitor, then Brabham attempts an undercut to reach the inside apex. Both accelerate hard from the corner and Moss narrowly holds off Brabham for a sensational victory. Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
1958 XVI Grand Prix Automobile de Monaco Monte Carlo1958 1958 XVI Grand Prix Automobile de Monaco At Monaco for the Grand Prix (314.5 kilometers) in May, a British Walker Cooper Climax T45 under Maurice Trintignant (FR) takes race honors in 2:57:27.9 (average 67.99 mph), under twenty-one seconds ahead of a Ferrari entry. Trintignant moves out front on Lap 47 after race leader Mike Hawthorn in his Ferrari retires with a mechanical associated with his fuel pump. Trintignant wins the event for the second time as the rear-engine Walker Coopers finally turn heads along the service alley after taking the first pair of F1 contests. Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
1958 VII Grand Prix du MarocCasablanca, Morocco1958 1958 VII Grand Prix du MarocAt Ain-Diab for the Moroccan Grand Prix (404 kilometers) in October, a British Vandervell Vanwall under Stirling Moss (GB) wins in 2:09:15.1 (average 117.30 mph), under eighty-five seconds ahead of a Ferrari entry. Hawthorn must finish in second position to eke out the Drivers’ championship over race leader Moss, and the former gets a big assist from American teammate Phil Hill, who while running P2 allows the Briton to pass him on Lap 39 for the title. Moss loses out on the title despite holding more race victories (four) and both the driver and his staunch legion of fans soberly forever lament the missed opportunity for glory. The race claims the life of Hans Rager in a rollover shunt during a practice session, and Stuart Lewis-Evans later succumbs six days later to injuries suffered in an off-circuit shunt on Lap 41. Photo Credit: Klemantaski Collection.