Welcome to nicheforSpeed.com

Current Motorsport Status and History including Formula 1 (F1), World Endurance and GT (WEC, IMSA, Weathertech), IndyCar (NTT), and NASCAR (Monster Cup) racing. Please explore and enjoy your niche for speed.

Prior Season

1935 AIACR Grand Prix Season

Next Season

1935 AIACR Grand Prix Season
Photo Credit: Daimler AG.
Champion Constructor: None
Putative Constructor: Daimler Mercedes (DE,0,3)
Champion Driver: Rudy Caracciola (DE,1,1)
Putative Driver: Rudy Caracciola (DE)
Putative Constructor Entry Specification: Model W25B, 3.36-liter, eight-cylinder inline, forged steel engine, DOHC, twin carburetors, supercharged, four-speed, Lockheed hydraulic-assist drum brakes, aluminum body/pressed steel frame, 320 horsepower (Hans NIbel).

The AIACR reinstates its European Driving Championship for the 1935 racing season. The Daimler Mercedes werks executes one of the most dominating season performances in Grand Prix history with its notorious W25 racer and collects the Grand Prix putative constructors' title for the first time since 1914. Mercedes driver Rudy Caracciola erupts onto the Grand Prix racing scene and snares his maiden EDC constructors' crown.

HeM applies the Putative Model to all racing seasons for two primary purposes: First, to effectively normalize all racing seasons for empirical comparison across the decades, and second, to step clear of series organizers which score season championships primarily out of commercial interest or to attract manufacturer participation. The Putative Model simply scores all seasons in the same fashion as a standard track and field meeting, with the only purpose of tracking what takes place at the finishing stripe If the Putative Champion differs from the nominal Series Champion, please note the (SC) notation below.

Mercedes109     Caracciola54
SF Alfa Romeo48     Fagioli42
Auto Union40     Von Brauchitsch23
Scud Subalpina Maserati9     Stuck21
Bugatti8     Nuvolari20
Sommer Alfa Romeo1     Dreyfus19
Scud Villapadierna Maserati1     

Noteworthy 1935 Races

1935 VII Grand Prix de Monaco Monte Carlo1935 1935 VII Grand Prix de Monaco At Monaco for the Grand Prix (318 kilometers) in April, the race comes to a German Mercedes W25K under Luigi Fagioli (IT) in 3:23:49.8 (record average 58.29 mph), under thirty-two seconds ahead of an ALFA Romeo entry. Fagioli leads wire-to-wire in his mighty Mercedes entry while hometown Monégasque driver Louis Chiron in his ALFA Romeo suffers derision from the Monte Carlo spectators for allowing the Germans to capture the victory in the principality. Photo Credit: Daimler AG.
1935 VIII Großer Preis von Deutschland Mayen, Nazi Germany1935 1935 VIII Großer Preis von Deutschland At the Nürburgring for the German Grand Prix (502 kilometers) in July, an Italian Scuderia Ferrari ALFA Romeo Tipo B under Tazio Nuvolari (IT) unexpectedly bests the field in cold and rainy conditions in 4:08:40.2 (average 75.30 mph), under ninety-nine seconds ahead of an Auto Union entry. Nuvolari, piloting an underpowered ALFA Tipo relative to the Mercedes blitz, moves out front after race leader Manfred von Brauchitsch in his Mercedes suffers a blown tire with only nine kilometers remaining. Many enthusiasts regard the surprise Nuvolari-ALFA victory as the greatest auto racing upset ever on German soil. Scuderia honcho Enzo Ferrari originally refuses to race his cars in Nazi Germany despite the objections of driver Nuvolari before Italian Premiere Benito Mussolini takes the side of Nuvolari and overrides the Commendatore. Photo Credit: Non-Primary: www.grandprixhistory.org/.
1935 VIII Gran Premio d'Italia Monza, Italy1935 1935 VIII Gran Premio d'Italia At Monza for the Italian Grand Prix (503 kilometers) in September, a German Auto Union B under Hans Stuck (DE) crosses first in 3:40:09 (average 85.20 mph), under two minutes ahead of an ALFA Romeo entry. Stuck outlasts the companion entry of Achille Varzi after the latter retires on Lap 15 before eagerly racing away for the first major victory for Auto Union during the 1935 season. The Germans extract sweet revenge for their humiliating defeat at the Nürburgring by ALFA Romeo and Tazio Nuvolari earlier in the season, yet the tifosi surprise all by roundly celebrating Stuck and his performance at the finish. Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
1935 IX Gran Premio di Tripoli Tripoli, Italian Tripolitania1935 1935 IX Gran Premio di Tripoli At Tripoli for the Tripoli Grand Prix (524 kilometers, non-championship) in May, a German Mercedes W25 under Rudy Caracciola (DE) takes the flag in 2:38:47.6 (average 123.0 mph), under ninety-seven seconds ahead of an Auto Union entry. Race leader Achille Varzi in his Auto Union, leading the field by two minutes, in frustrating fashion drops a right tire with five laps remaining. Caracciola takes advantage, runs down Varzi, and passes him for victory on the final circuit. Photo Credit:
1935 III Gran Prèmio da Cicade de Rio de Janeiro Gávea, Brazil1935 1935 III Gran Prèmio da Cicade de Rio de Janeiro At Gávea for the Rio Janeiro Grand Prix (279 kilometers) in June, a Brazilian FIAT 1500 under Riccardo Carú (BR) notches a victory in 4:03:20.2 (average 42.70 mph), under eleven seconds ahead of a Bugatti driven by Henrique Lehrfeld. Carú moves out front after race leader Benedicto Lopes in his Ford Special fails to avoid a collision with the stalled backmarker Lasalle entry of João Souza with only three laps remaining. The race claims the life of 1934 race winner Irineu Corréa, who perishes after losing control of his entry on a pass attempt, slams into a tree, and then catapults into a nearby canal. Photo Credit:
1935 IX ADAC Eifelrennen Mayen, Nazi Germany1935 1935 IX ADAC Eifelrennen At the Nürburgring for the Eifelrennen (251 kilometers, non-championship) in June, a German Mercedes W25 under Rudy Caracciola (DE) takes race honors in rainy conditions in 2:08:02.3 (average 73.10 mph), under two seconds ahead of an Auto Union driven by Bernd Rosemeyer. Trailing Rosemeyer in the closing laps, Caracciola patiently outwaits a bit of blocking by the Auto Union before passing the noted German motorcycle champion at the final Hohenrein Curve on the last circuit for victory. Photo Credit: Daimler AG.