Welcome to nicheforSpeed.com

Current Motorsport Status and History including Formula 1 (F1), World Endurance and GT (WEC, IMSA, Weathertech), IndyCar (NTT), and NASCAR (Monster Cup) racing. Please explore and enjoy your niche for speed.

Prior Season

1930 AIACR Grand Prix Season

Next Season

1930 AIACR Grand Prix Season
Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
Champion Constructor: None
Putative Constructor: Automobiles Ettore Bugatti (FR,1,3)
Champion Driver: None
Putative Driver: Louis Chiron (MC,0,2), Philippe Étancelin (FR,0,1), Billy Arnold (US,0,1)
Putative Constructor Entry Specification: Model T35C, 1.99-liter, eight-cylinder inline, cast-iron engine, SOHC, supercharged, four-speed, aluminum body/steel ladder frame, 130 horsepower (Ettore Bugatti).

Scuderia Ferrari under founder Enzo Ferrari leads a small works entry preparation effort on behalf of racing titan ALFA Romeo during the 1930 Grand Prix season. AE Bugatti with its T35C entry collects the Grand Prix putative constructors' title for the second consecutive season. Future Grand Prix racing great Tazio Nuvolari makes his debut with a victory in the Tourist Trophy Race at Belfast in August. Departures: Gastone Brilli-Peri, 36, b. Florence, Italy 1893, d. at practice, GP Tripoli, Tripolitania, March.

HeM applies the Putative Model to all racing seasons for two primary purposes: First, to effectively normalize all racing seasons for empirical comparison across the decades, and second, to step clear of series organizers which score season championships primarily out of commercial interest or to attract manufacturer participation. The Putative Model simply scores all seasons in the same fashion as a standard track and field meeting, with the only purpose of tracking what takes place at the finishing stripe If the Putative Champion differs from the nominal Series Champion, please note the (SC) notation below.

Bugatti25     Arnold B12
MH Summers Miller12     Chiron12
Etancelin Bugatti12     Etancelin12
White Stevens Miller8     Cantlon8
Birkin Bentley8     Bouriat8
Schneider Stevens Miller5     Birkin8
Zanelli Bugati5     

Noteworthy 1930 Races

1930 VI Grand Premio di Tripoli Tagiura, Tripolitania1930 1930 VI Grand Premio di Tripoli At Tagiura for the Tripoli Grand Prix (208.5 kilometers, non-championship) in March, the race comes to Maserati V4 16-cylinder under Baconin Borzacchini (IT) in 0:42:54.4 (average 91.1 mph), thirty-one seconds ahead of a companion Maserati driven by Luigi Arcangeli. Borzacchini leads a pair of streaking Maseratis away from the dawdling field on the swift Tripoli circuit and provides the Italian marque with its maiden Grand Prix victory. The race claims the life of 1929 race winner Gastone Brilli-Peri, who perishes in a horrific overturn shunt at the treacherous Suk el Giuma corner during a practice session. Photo Credit: Non-Primary: www.alfasport.net/.
1930 II Grand Prix de Monaco Monte Carlo1930 1930 II Grand Prix de Monaco At Monaco for the Grand Prix (318 kilometers, non-championship) in April, a French Ecurie Friderich Bugatti T35B under René Dreyfus (FR) takes race honors in 3:41:02.6 (average 53.6 mph), under twenty-four seconds ahead of a werks Bugatti entry. Dreyfus, running on a no-stop strategy, moves out front after courageously passing race leader and local favorite Louis Chiron in his Bugatti as both descend from the Casino complex with only fifteen laps remaining. Photo Credit: Bibliothéque nationale de France.
1930 VI Reale Premio di Roma Rome, Italy1930 1930 VI Reale Premio di Roma At Rome for the Grand Prix (261 kilometers, non-championship) in May, an Italian Maserati 26M under Luigi Arcangeli (IT) takes the flag in 1:56.37.8 (average 86.7 mph), under two seconds ahead of a Bugatti driven by Louis Chiron and Guy Bouriat. Chiron, after taking over driving duties from Bouriat, charges hard to overcome a nearly minute deficit to race leader Arcangeli with two laps to go. In thrilling fashion, Chiron moves ahead of Arcangeli at Turn 1 on the final circuit before the latter returns the favor with an outside pass on the final corner and sprints away for a narrow victory with his new factory Maserati. Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
1930 VI Coppa Acerbo Pescara, Italy1930 1930 VI Coppa Acerbo At Pescara for the Coppa Acerbo (255 kilometers, non-championship) in August, an Italian Maserati 26M under Achille Varzi (IT) notches a victory in 2:06:08.2, under eighty-seven seconds ahead of a Maserati driven by Ernesto Maserati. Varzi moves out front on the final lap after race leader Luigi Fagioli in his Maserati drops a differential just kilometers from the finish. Photo Credit:
1930 III Gran Premio di Monza Monza, Italy1930 1930 III Gran Premio di Monza At Monza for the Grand Prix (240.5 kilometers, non-championship) in September, an Italian Maserati 26M under Achille Varzi (IT) crosses first in 1:35:46.2, less than a second (.20) ahead of a companion Maserati under Luigi Arcangeli. Varzi, again after executing a fabulous charge through the field after a slow service, moves out front on the final lap with a pass of race leader Arcangeli mere meters from the finish. The tifosi joyously storm the circuit, creating perilous obstacles for the remaining finishers, as runner-up Arcangeli breaks down in tears. Photo Credit: Gallica Digital Library.
1930 I Masarykuv Okruh Brno, Czechoslovak Republic1930 1930 I Masarykuv Okruh At Brno for the inaugural Masaryk Circuit event (495.5 kilometers, non-championship) in September, a German Bugatti T35C under Prinz Hermann zu Leiningen (DE) and Heinrich-Joachim von Morgen (DE) wins in 4:54:13.6, under three minutes ahead of a companion Bugatti driven by Ernst Günter Burggaller. In an utterly another heart stopping Grand Prix finish, von Morgen moves out front on the final lap after race leader Tazio Nuvolari, racing with an open hood plate due to overheating issues with his ALFA Romeo, loses drive and stops only nine kilometers from the finish. The ALFA works retires the legendary P2 after the contest. Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.