Welcome to nicheforSpeed.com

Current Motorsport Status and History including Formula 1 (F1), World Endurance and GT (WEC, IMSA, Weathertech), IndyCar (NTT), and NASCAR (Monster Cup) racing. Please explore and enjoy your niche for speed.

Prior Season

1927 AIACR WMC Grand Prix Season

Next Season

1927 AIACR WMC Grand Prix Season
Photo Credit: LAT Photographic Archive.
Champion Constructor: Delage (FR,1,1)
Putative Constructor: Delage (FR,1,1)
Champion Driver: None
Putative Driver: Robert Benoist (FR,0,1)
Putative Constructor Entry Specification: Model 15S8, 1.49-liter, eight-cylinder inline, cast-iron engine, DOHC, supercharged, five-speed gearbox, steel-ladder frame, 175 horsepower (Albert Lory).

French make Delage with its 15 S8 entry breaks through for its maiden WMC putative constructors' title in 1927. Grand Prix racing makes its inaugural visit to the Nürburgring for the Eifel Race in June. Departures: Gérard de Courcelles, 37, b. unknown, France, d. GP France, Montlhéry, July. New Racing Makes: Swedish Volvo. Racing Evolution: Twin superchargers for racing (Delage).

HeM applies the Putative Model to all racing seasons for two primary purposes: First, to effectively normalize all racing seasons for empirical comparison across the decades, and second, to step clear of series organizers which score season championships primarily out of commercial interest or to attract manufacturer participation. The Putative Model simply scores all seasons in the same fashion as a standard track and field meeting, with the only purpose of tracking what takes place at the finishing stripe If the Putative Champion differs from the nominal Series Champion, please note the (SC) notation below.

Delage79     Benoist48
Bugatti13     Bourlier21
White Duesenberg12     Souders12
OM11     DeVore8
Cramer Miller8     Conelli8
Cooper Miller6     Morandi8

Noteworthy 1927 Races

1927 Grand Prix de Provence Miramas, France1927 1927 Grand Prix de Provence At Miramas, France for the Provence Grand Prix (300 kilometers, non-championship) in March, a French Société Nerka Bugatti T35B under Louis Chiron (MC) takes race honors in rainy conditions in 0:12:28.0 (average 74.8 mph), fourteen seconds ahead of an Amilcar driven by André Morel. Heavy morning rains doom the long delayed event from the start and matters degrade even further after Robert Benoist in his Delage crashes into a pair of entries upon his approach to the grid after his formation lap. The French Talbot team withdraws from the contest out of frustration, angering the partisan crowd, and bedlam ensues on Lap 5 after spectators storm the circuit as a protest against the delays. The Talbot withdrawal and the inability of race organizers to provide current updates on event circumstances only provokes greater wrath in the aftermath as hooligans damage the French Talbot entries before setting the service garages aflame. Photo Credit:
1927 Circuito di Bologna Bologna, Italy1927 1927 Circuito di Bologna At Bologna for the Grand Prix (120 kilometers, non-championship) in June, the race comes to an Italian Materassi Bugatti T35C under Emilio Materassi (IT) in 1:27:23 (average 51.2 mph), under two and a half minutes ahead of a Bugatti entry. After stopping for service at the halfway point on Lap 12, fourth-running Materassi blitzes the field with a remarkable charge and moves out front after passing race leader Gaspare Bona in his Bugatti with only three laps remaining. Photo Credit: