Welcome to nicheforSpeed.com

Current Motorsport Status and History including Formula 1 (F1), World Endurance and GT (WEC, IMSA, Weathertech), IndyCar (NTT), and NASCAR (Monster Cup) racing. Please explore and enjoy your niche for speed.

Prior Season

2000 FIA Formula 1 Season

Next Season

2000 FIA Formula 1 Season
Photo Credit: Attribution Unascertained.
Champion Constructor: Scuderia Ferrari (IT,10,22)
Putative Constructor: Scuderia Ferrari (IT)
Champion Driver: Michael Schumacher (DE,3,3)
Putative Driver: Michael Schumacher (DE)
Putative Constructor Entry Specification: Model F1-2000, 2.99-liter, ten-cylinder vee, aluminum alloy engine, DOHC, Magnetti-Marelli fuel injection, seven-speed semi-automatic transverse sequential, ventilated carbon fibre disc brakes, carbon fibre/carbon fibre composite honeycomb monocoque, double wishbone-pushrod independent suspension, power-assist steering, 775 horsepower (Ross Brawn, Rory Byrne).

The FIA in 2000 mandates V10 power unit configurations for all entries. The sanctioning body, after discovering illegal fuel formulations for Arrows at Barcelona in May, bans pre-cooled fuel supplies for all teams in September. Scuderia Ferrari and McLaren battle throughout the season for constructors' honors and the Ferrari 1-3 finish in the season finale at Sepang in October snares the racing house its second consecutive and tenth overall title, supplanting Williams as the all-time modern era career leader in championships. Ferrari driver Michael Schumacher (nine victories) reels off four consecutive wins to close out the season and overtakes Mika Häkkinen of McLaren for his third drivers' crown, his first since 1995, and the first drivers' honors for the Scuderia since the 1979 season with Jody Scheckter. Future F1 champion Jenson Button makes his debut at Melbourne in March. Michael Schumacher wins three consecutive races from season onset starting in March. The FIA strikes all first six scoring drivers from the results charts at São Paulo in March after alleging improper barge board erosion upon all the suspect entries. After the offending constructors appeal the decision, the FIA reinstates all finishers except for McLaren driver David Coulthard on grounds of driving with a front wing that does not meet ground height specifications. FIA inspectors deem the Arrows fuel supply as illegal and sends the team to rear of the starting grid at Barcelona in May. The FIA strips McLaren of its first place constructors' points at Austria in July after scrutineers fail the entry of driver Mika Häkkinen during postrace inspection. Ferrari driver Rubens Barrichello earns his maiden F1 victory at Hockenheim in July after a record 123 starts. A disgruntled McLaren employee imperils all entries after running onto the circuit during midrace with a protest sign at Hockenheim in July. 200,000 spectators attend the first F1 event hosted at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the United States in September. Michael Schumacher wins four consecutive races to close out the racing season in October. Departures: Race marshal due to six-entry midrace shunt, GP Italy, Monza, September.

HeM applies the Putative Model to all racing seasons for two primary purposes: First, to effectively normalize all racing seasons for empirical comparison across the decades, and second, to step clear of series organizers which score season championships primarily out of commercial interest or to attract manufacturer participation. The Putative Model simply scores all seasons in the same fashion as a standard track and field meeting, with the only purpose of tracking what takes place at the finishing stripe If the Putative Champion differs from the nominal Series Champion, please note the (SC) notation below.

Scuderia Ferrari207     Schumacher M139
McLaren Mercedes189     Hakkinen116
Williams BMW39     Coulthard92
Benetton Playlife24     Barrichello77
BAR Honda20     Schumacher R27
Jordan Mugen19     Fisichella22

Noteworthy 2000 Races

2000 LVIII Grand Prix de Monaco Monte Carlo2000 2000 LVIII Grand Prix de Monaco At Monaco for the Grand Prix (263 kilometers) in June, the race comes to a British McLaren MP4-15 Mercedes under David Coulthard (GB) in 1:49:28.2 (average 89.52 mph), under sixteen seconds ahead of a Ferrari entry. Coulthard moves out front on Lap 56 of 78 after race leader Michael Schumacher in his Ferrari retires with suspension failure. Photo Credit: LAT Photographic Archive.
2000 LXII Großer Preis von Deutschland Hockenheim, Germany2000 2000 LXII Großer Preis von Deutschland At Hockenheim for the Grand Prix of Germany (307 kilometers) in July, an Italian Scuderia Ferrari F1-2000 under Rubens Barrichello (BR) takes race honors in rainy conditions in 1:25:34.4 (average 133.81 mph), under eight seconds ahead of a McLaren driven by Mika Häkkinen. After a disgruntled former McLaren employee runs on to the live race circuit at Clark Chicane on Lap 25, bringing out the safety car and condensing the field, Barrichello with eleven laps remaining prevails after electing to stay on slick rubber despite another round of showers falling upon the circuit. Barrichello holds on for his maiden F1 victory, his first in a record 123 series starts, and dedicates the same to his late fellow countryman Ayrton Senna. Photo Credit: Williams Racing.
2000 LVIII Belgian Grand Prix Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium2000 2000 LVIII Belgian Grand Prix At Spa for the Belgian Grand Prix (306.5 kilometers) in August, a British McLaren MP4-15 Mercedes under Mika Häkkinen (FI) takes the flag in wet conditions in 1:28:14.5 (average 129.54 mph), under two seconds ahead of a Ferrari driven by Michael Schumacher. With five laps remaining, race leader Schumacher fends off a pass attempt by Häkkinen at Les Combes by forcing the latter off the circuit after both nearly make contact. Häkkinen makes a subsequent move one lap later and slips past the German through a tight alley by using backmarker Ricardo Zonta in his BAR as a shield before racing away to victory. Photo Credit: LAT Photographic Archive.